Saturday, November 28, 2020
  [ login ]


ECCOMAS PhD Awards - 2014


The meeting of the Evaluation Committee for the ECCOMAS award for the best PhD theses 2014 was held on May 8th, 2015 at CIMNE, Barcelona. As a response to the call for tender, the ECCOMAS Member Associations nominated 18 theses. The Evaluation Committee was composed by Nils-Erik Wiberg (chairman), Ilaria Perugia, Marek Behr, Umberto Perego and Pedro Díez (secretary).

After a detailed discussion, a voting process was held in two phases. First, after a secret voting the number of theses was reduced from 18 to 8. In a second round, the number was reduced to 4 with 2 theses that were ranked well above the rest. Then the committee discussed these 4 theses, evaluating the different aspects of each and unanimously agreed on selecting the two winners that are precisely the ones ranked above.

The two winners are:
  • Dr. Annabelle Collin (France) for the thesis "Asymptotic analysis in cardiac electrophysiolog! y. Applications in modeling and data assimilation."
  • Dr. Pieter Coulier (Belgium) for the thesis "The numerical solution of large scale dynamic soil-structure interaction problems"

These theses are outstanding works in Computational Methods combining excellent knowledge of both theory and practice, with special insight in the implementation and computational aspects. The award decision was based on the originality of the theses, their scientific content and the innovative numerical developments.

All nominees will be invited to participate at the next PhD Olympiad to be held in Aachen, Germany, in the framework of the ECCOMAS Young Investigators Conference 2015 - YIC 2015, 20-23 July 2015.

The list of finalists selected by the local-regional ECCOMAS Association is the following:

AuthorTitle of the ThesisLocal/regional AssociationCountry
Olivier GouryComputational Time Savings in Multiscale Fracture Mechanics using Model Order ReductionACMEUnited Kingdom
Diogo NetoNumerical Simulation of Frictional Contact Problems using Nagata Patches in Surface SmoothingAPMTACPortugal
Pieter CoulierThe Numerical Solution of Large-scale Dynamic Soil–Structure Interaction ProblemsBNCTAMBelgium
Florian TothStatic and Dynamic Modelling of Lightweight Floating Platforms Supported by Flexible Air ChambersCEACMAustria
Nicole SpillaneRobust Domain Decomposition Methods for Symmetric Positive Definite ProblemsCSMAFrance
Meng-Meng ZhouComputational Simulation of Soil Freezing: Multiphase Modeling and Strength UpscalingGACMGermany
Anika RadermacherProper orthogonal decomposition-based model reduction in nonlinear solid mechanicsGAMMGermany
Annabelle CollinAsymptotic Analysis in Cardiac Electrophysiology. Applications to Modeling and to Data AssimilationGAMNIFrance
Giulia Scalet Shape Memory and Elastoplastic Materials: from Constitutive and Numerical to Fatigue ModelingGIMC-AIMETAItaly
Manolis GeorgioudakisStochastic Analysis and Optimum Design of Structures Subjected to FractureGRACMGreece
Mark WassermanMultigrid Acceleration of Turbulent Reacting Flow SimulationsIACMMIsrael
Nicodemus BanagaayaIndex-aware Model Order Reduction Methods for DAEsNMCNetherlands
Ismet BaranModelling the Pultrusion Process of Off Shore Wind Turbine Blades NoACMNorth Europe
Wojciech AdamczykModelling of the Oxy-fuel Combustion Process within the Circulating Fluidized BedPACMPoland
Samuele RubinoNumerical modeling of turbulence by Richardson number-based and VMS modelsSEMASpain
Narges DialamiThermo-mechanical Analysis of Welding ProcessesSEMNISpain
Marco PanzeriData Assimilation for Complex Subsurface Flow FieldsSIMAIItaly
David S. KammerSlip Fronts at Fictional Interfaces: A Numerical and Theoretical StudySWICCOMASSwitzerland