Saturday, November 28, 2020
  [ login ]


Next Call(for best PhD Theses in 2017): January 2018

For the two Ph.D. Awards , every member association proposes one candidate and the ECCOMAS PhD Awards Committee selects two awardees. The presentation of the awards, which are accompanied with a prize of 2000 Euros and the reimbursement of the travelling costs to the presentation of the awards, takes place annually at an appropriate thematic event.


Every person who has presented a thesis within the ECCOMAS fields of interest and got it approved at a University or a Research Organization in Europe in the year subject of the open call qualifies for the Award and can submit an application.


The awards is given every year.


The application must be sent to the President of the local/regional ECCOMAS Association to which the applicant is associated (a list of addresses is given on the ECCOMAS website). Applicants must include a copy of the thesis and a Curriculum Vitae. A 2 to 3 pages summary in English is required for theses written in other languages than English.

Each local ECCOMAS Association will select one candidate thesis according to an internally decided selection procedure. The local ECCOMAS Associations will send the selected thesis and the CV of the author (printed on paper), together with a short (one page) explanation why this thesis is outstanding, to the ECCOMAS Secretariat in Barcelona.

All the candidates selected as finalists will receive a diploma.

Award Presentation

The Awards will be handed over at the ECCOMAS Young Investigators Conference (YIC) at odd years, and at the ECCOMAS Congress or ECCOMAS Conferences at even years.